For more than sixteen years OSEA has been at the vanguard of the energy sector working with communities, businesses, institutions, and public and private sector organizations to champion it's vision of a prosperous Ontario with thriving sustainable energy sector powered, heated, cooled and moved by portfolios of renewable energy, conservation and energy efficiency technologies, creating good jobs, resilient communities and healthy environments.

On Thursday, February 2nd, 2017, we turned the spotlight on the champions of our sector, and honoured them during OSEA's 7th annual Powering Prosperity Awards dinner at Montecassino Hotel, in Toronto.

Master of Ceremony
 Ajay Fry
Ajay Fry is a television host, YouTuber and comedian from Toronto, ON. In his free time Ajay is a gamer and artist who cares deeply about the environment and social justice. You can catch him on InnerSpace weeknights at 6pm on Space Channel.

Opening Remarks
The Honourable Glen Murray, Minister of Environment and Climate Change
Glen Murray has a lifetime of activism in urban planning, sustainable development and community health. He was the Senior Resident and Visiting Fellow at the Faculty of Architecture and Landscape Design at Massey College, University of Toronto and worked on the Development of the University’s City Centre. He was a Managing Partner of AuthentiCITY, a Toronto based Urban Sustainability consulting and planning firm. 
He was appointed President and CEO of the Canadian Urban Institute in 2007 and led the development of award winning programs in community energy mapping & planning, regional economic development and culture lead regeneration of urban centres.
Glen was appointed by the Prime Minister of Canada to Chair the National Round Table on the Environment and the Economy (NRTEE), where he helped to shape environmental policy and respond to climate change in Canada.
Glen was mayor of the City of Winnipeg and during his tenure was the Chair of the Big City Mayors Caucus where he led the successful campaign that resulted in the federal government to transfer the equivalent of 5 cents a litre of the federal tax on gas to municipalities for infrastructure renewal and construction.

Keynote Presentation  
Dr. Harry Lehmann, Head of Division I for “Environmental Planning and Sustainable Strategies” of the German Federal Environment Agency

Physicist Dr. Harry Lehmann is head of the division “Environmental Planning and Sustainable Strategies” of the German Federal Environment Agency. After working in the field of fundamental research in physics, he founded and owned 1984 the Engineering Consultancy “UHL Data” for systems analysis and simulation in the field of energy and environment. From 1990 until 1999 he was at the Wuppertal Institute for Climate, Environment and Energy. Then he founded and was Director of the Institute for Sustainable Solutions and Innovations, at that time he was also Director of Greenpeace International “Solutions Unit”. He was an early member of the Factor 10 Club for resource productivity and sustainable use of natural resources and is now the president. He is one of the founders of Eurosolar and served as vice president from 2000 to 2006. Since 2011 he is executive Chairman of the World Renewable Energy Council. Since 1985, Harry Lehmann has been lecturer – amongst others – at the University of Luneburg.

Powering Prosperity Awards 2017

Thank you to our 2017 supporters!

Presenting Sponsor

Award Sponsors


Power Partners


Table Sponsors


Silent Auction Partners


Powering Prosperity Awards is bullfrogpowered with 100% green electricity.

This means that Bullfrog Power's generators put 100% green power onto the grid to match the amount of electricity the event uses, displacing energy from polluting sources. Across Canada, Bullfrog's green electricity comes from a blend of wind and low-impact hydro power sourced from new Canadian renewable energy facilities.

For more information on Bullfrog’s green energy, visit

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software